Tracks of the Month: November

Hello everyone, I hope you’re all doing very well. I feel like I say this in every one of these posts but seriously, where has this year gone?! Christmas is just around the corner and the festive music is coming out in force. But, just before we welcome that, I’m going to talk you through the songs that I haven’t been able to get enough of these last few weeks. So, without further ado, let’s get into it…

 

The Chainsmokers ft. Halsey – Closer

After enjoying moderate chat success with their singles ‘#Selfie’, ‘Roses’ and ‘Don’t Let Me Down’, The Chainsmokers dropped, arguably, their most successful song to date back in July this year. The American DJ Duo – made up of Alex Pall and Andrew Taggart – have teamed up with electro-pop singer-songwriter Halsey for ‘Closer’; a track which earned them their first number one single.

The song has an electronic/dance vibe, coupled with a synth-led chorus – lending to a very dreamy, summery feel. Taggart lends his vocals along with Halsey, and the two complement each other brilliantly. Taggart’s smooth and deep tone provides a great contrast to Halsey’s higher, powerhouse pipes, giving the track a sense of dimension, and creating a beautifully powerful effect overall.

On a personal level, this song has been my absolute jam lately. If you’re a regular reader around here, you may know that I got tattooed by Tattoo Fixers’ Sketch a few weeks ago – and this song was playing in the studio as I was getting ready to have it done. One of my first memories of the day was Sketch sitting down next to me singing along to the chorus just before we got started. So, this song will always remind me of getting tattooed that day, and how much fun it was!

 

Favourite lyrics:

“So, baby, pull me closer / in the backseat of your rover.”

 

 

Bring Me The Horizon – Oh No

Again, if you’ve read my blog before, then you may remember that I did a full album review of Bring Me The Horizon’s ‘That’s The Spirit’ at the beginning of the year. However, this is another song that will always remind me of when I got tattooed by Sketch recently, so I couldn’t not include it. My friend and I were sat in the front of the studio while Sketch was in the back drawing up the design and, all of a sudden, this song just started blaring out from the other room. Naturally, we had a bit of a sing along while we were waiting!

As I said in my previous review:

‘Album closer ‘Oh No’ brings back the dance-pop musicality, while contrastingly highlighting the darker subject of seeing the pitfalls of addiction through sober eyes. Overall ‘That’s The Spirit’ has quite a dark theme, highlighting internal struggle and showing a sense of emotional vulnerability. However, there are pockets of positivity in the form of empowering, sing-along choruses – and its Sykes spitting the lyrics with such an aggressive passion that really drives it home.’

BMTH also released the official video for the song this month, and a rather bizarre one at that – if anyone knows what the weird trumpet playing thing is, please let me know!

Click here to read the full album review. 🙂

 

Favourite Lyrics:

“No we’re not on the level, you’re just off your face.”

“Don’t call it a party cause it never stops / now one is too many but it’s never enough.”

“You’re holding onto heaven but you’re hanging by a thread.”

 

 

Hinder – Lips of an Angel

This throwback of a song has been a major rediscovery for me this month. Released way back in 2009, ‘Lips Of An Angel’ was Hinder’s first major hit, reaching number one in multiple countries, and it’s not hard to figure out why.

Detailing the story of getting a phone-call from the ex that you never really got over, the rock ballad is captivating from beginning to end. Set to the sound of, ex-vocalist, Austin Winkler’s gruff and husky tone – with a sprinkling of higher notes during the chorus – the whole thing has a very brooding, poignant feel. I come back to this song every now and then, and every time I remember why I love it.

I stumbled across this track when I was flicking through the music channels back in the day, and I’m so glad I did because simply put, it’s flawless.

 

Favourite lyrics:

“Girl you make it hard to be faithful with the lips of an angel”

“My girl’s in the next room, Sometimes I wish she was you / I guess we never really moved on”

 

 

Set It Off – Something New 

Taken from Set It Off’s recently released third studio album ‘Upside Down’, ‘Something New’ marks the start of a new chapter for the band – as the title would suggest. Opening with a funky guitar-led pattern, and a super fun gang vocal refrain, the track is undeniably more pop-based than previous releases.

Sophomore offering ‘Duality’ showed the beginning of a transition into something more pop-based in certain numbers, but retained a darker, brooding vibe overall. Now, gone is the darkness and in its place is something full of optimism and light, set to Cody Carson’s smooth, distinctive vocals.

It’s jaunty, fun and will no doubt whip audiences into a frenzy – it always puts a smile on my face and makes me want to sing along. So, go on, “turn up the sound to Something New” – what’re you waiting for?


*
Released on October 7th, Set It Off’s newest album ‘Upside Down’ is now available to download through ITunes.

Click here to check out my review of the band’s previous album ‘Duality.’

 

Favourite lyrics:

“And if there’s one thing in my life, that I’ve been fighting day and night, well it’s the fear of changing nothing / So when I open up my eyes, and shake that worry from my mind, I checked the clock and it’s still running.”

“I think it, I say it, I write it, erase it, and break my back so I don’t let you down.”

 

Brit rockers You Me At Six have made an explosive comeback to the scene recently after going into hibernation while writing their hotly anticipated fifth album. They’ve dropped a few videos for various tracks from the upcoming new release, including title track ‘Night People‘, ‘Plus One’, ‘Give‘ and ‘Swear.’ I’ve been listening a lot to ‘Give’ and ‘Swear’ in particular, but I thought rather than write mini-reviews of both tracks, I’d just do a full album review when it’s released in January. 🙂

 

 

As always thank you for reading. I’ve been (trying to) blog every Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday during November as its ‘National Blog Posting Month’. To see all the the uploads throughout this month, click here.

To keep up to date with my upcoming posts, feel free to come and join me on:

Facebook  &  Twitter
🙂

2 thoughts on “Tracks of the Month: November

  1. Pingback: It’s National Blog Posting Month! | Sophie Brown.

  2. Pingback: My Top 7 Songs of 2016 | Sophie Brown.

Leave a Reply

