Tracks of the Month: April/May

Hola readers,

I’ve been pretty quiet on the blog over the last month or so, but no more! :). As it’s the penultimate day of May, I’m going to talk (or write) you through the main songs that I’ve kept coming back to these past few weeks. So whatever you’re doing this – rather chilly – Bank Holiday Monday, put your feet up for five minutes, grab a hot chocolate and have a read.


Rogue Re Vera – Golden Deceiver

New Yorkers Rogue Re Vera premiered an acoustic version of their latest track, Golden Deceiver, on YouTube early last month. Featuring front-woman Brittany Brutality on vocals and guitar, and Kyle Tucci also on guitar and backing vocals, the song comprises of scathing lyrics set to a backdrop of beautiful melodies and an addictive singalong chorus. The gentle acoustic sound contrasts with rough-and-ready nature of Brit’s husky tone brilliantly, as well as the biting nature of the lyrics: “Take all of your over-dramatic lines/you’re not getting the leading role this time.” I love singing this around the house and I’m intrigued to hear what the full-band version of it sounds like too.


Set It Off – Uncontainable

Hot on the heels of their ‘Duality’ era, Set It Off are back with brand new single ‘Uncontainable’. Released on YouTube in late March this year, ‘Uncontainable’ is a taste of the new direction the band are heading in; away from the dark, orchestral-rock sound of their debut offering ‘Cinematics’, and further into a more R’n’B-based pop sound, similar to that of the title track from their most recent album. With the very inspirational and uplifting quality – coupled with a healthy dose of sass from vocalist Cody Carson – that we’ve come to expect from the band, the song showcases the evolution of their sound whilst retaining that something which is still very much Set It Off. Every time I hear this it puts a smile on my face and makes me want to dance/sing along – I’m excited to hear what more they have to come.


DNCE – Cake By The Ocean

American pop four-piece DNCE premiered their debut single back in September 2015 – so how it’s taken this long to end up in a ‘Tracks I’m Loving’ I don’t know. Made up of vocalist Joe Jonas, guitarist JinJoo Lee, bassist Cole Whittle and drummer Jack Lawless, the band formed in 2015 with ‘Cake By The Ocean’ serving as the lead release from their first EP ‘Swaay’, which followed shortly after. Opening with a funky guitar and bass rhythm, and a clap-along drum pattern set to Jonas’s smooth pop vocal, the song is upbeat and catchy with major summer vibes – I can’t believe it peaked at only #9 in the US Billboard chart.


Also in May…

Throughout the last two months I’ve also been listening a lot to Set It Off’s ‘Duality’ album, as well as The Summer Set’s newest offering ‘Stories for Monday.’ However, seeing as my favourite tracks from both albums change all the time, I’ve decided not to include them here and to instead do full reviews of both in the next few weeks, so keep your eyes peeled for those!


To keep follow the blog and keep up to date with my posts, feel free to come and join me on:

Facebook   &   Twitter



2 thoughts on “Tracks of the Month: April/May

  1. Pingback: Set It Off – Duality (Album Review) #FlashbackFriday | Sophie Brown.

  2. Pingback: Jammin’ In July: My Musical Alphabet | Sophie Brown.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s