Tracks of the Month: February

You know the drill…


Omi – Hula Hoop

Released back in August 2015, ‘Hula Hoop’ is the second single from Jamaican-American singer OMI’s debut offering ‘Me 4 U’. Much like previous chart hit ‘Cheerleader’, the song incorporates brass accents as well major keyboard chords, giving it a very summery, almost, Caribbean sound. The steel drums and clap-like rhythm also inject flair, creating an infectious beat, resulting in a great chorus and an overall addictive track. I dare you not to dance to this. It’s great for those of us already longing for the warmer days of spring and summer (because I can’t be the only one, right?)

 

Nicky Jam Ft. Enrique Iglesias – El Perdón (Alex Selas Extended Edit)

Originally a solo track by American Reggaetón artist Nicky Jam, this version of El Perdón also features vocals from Spanish singer Enrique Iglesias. This song really reminds me of my time in Spain, as it’s sung entirely in Spanish, which also gives quite an exotic vibe. This ‘extended edit’ also see’s DJ/producer Alex Selas whack up the tempo, enhancing the beat and giving it more of a danceable quality – which I love.

(Inevitably some of you are probably thinking, ‘but I don’t speak Spanish,’ there is also an English version of the song, but personally, I prefer this one; I just think it fits the instrumental and overall sound of the track better.)

 

Fall Out Boy ft. Demi Lovato – Irresistible

Pop-punk veterans Fall Out Boy premiered this remix of ‘Irresistible’, featuring guest vocals from Demi Lovato, back in October with a music video featuring internet sensation ‘Doug the Pug.’ Another video then dropped in January referencing NSYNC’s iconic ‘It’s Gonna Be Me,’ in which the band are depicted as dolls (complete with appearances from former NSYNC members Joey Fatone and Chris Kirkpatrick – genius.)

The song is much the same as the original musically – Patrick Stump’s soulful tone injecting a certain sassiness to the lyrics – the thing that sets it apart is the addition of Lovato’s powerhouse pipes. While some people aren’t keen, I think the added harmony gives a texture to the track that wasn’t there previously and creates a sexier vibe. They also recently came together to perform the song on The Ellen DeGeneres show, and absolutely slayed it. Lovato sings back-up for much of the song and the contrasting vocals complement each other brilliantly…the only thing I did miss was hearing the ‘mon Cherie’ line in a French accent.

 

All Time Low – Kids in the Dark

Seeing as this song was initially released almost a year ago, I’ve found myself thinking ‘how have I not heard this until now?’…nope, I don’t know either. Taken from the band’s most recent album ‘Future Hearts’, ‘Kids In The Dark’ is everything we’ve come to expect from Baltimore rockers All Time Low, in the best possible sense. Alex Gaskarth’s smooth and steady vocals shine against a melodic whirlwind of guitars and drums, reminding anyone who’s ever felt like a black sheep that they’re not alone. I love it.

 

The Summer Set – Figure Me Out

I’ve also been listening a lot to The Summer Set’s new single ‘Figure Me Out,’ which I did a full review of not long after its release. In my review I use the term ‘elegantly explosive’, which I think describes it perfectly. It continues along the same musical vibe shown in previous album ‘Legendary’, with the inspiring lyrics and their personal brand of pop-rock-party chorus that we are so used to. Lyrically I really identify with the song, as it’s one about losing your way, but also recognising the fact that you need to figure things out (and let’s face it, we’ve all been there right?) It’s kind of become my anthem of 2016. ‘I believe there’s more to life than all my problems, maybe there’s still hope for me to start again, get my feet back on the ground and pull my head out of the clouds. I think it’s time for me to figure me out.’

Click here to see my previous review of the song.

 

I’ve also been listening to Bring Me The Horizon’s ‘That’s The Spirit’ album, which I reviewed earlier this month, click here to have a read.

 

What do you think of the songs included in this post? If there are any you haven’t heard, I hope I inspired you to give them a listen. What’s been dominating your stereo this past month? I’m always on the lookout for new music so feel free to let me know in a comment.

 

For regular updates come and join me on:

Facebook  &   Twitter

🙂

Leave a Reply

