My Top 5 Albums of 2015

Hello again, (as you can probably tell from the title) I’m going to share my Top 5 Albums of 2015 with you.

Now, if you’re a regular reader of my blog then you may notice that I have done full reviews of all-but-one of the following records. Be that as it may, I couldn’t not include them as these are all albums that were like the sound of 2015 to me. While some of them were released before 2015, I personally discovered them all during the course of the year and each of them really stuck out to me. (Please note: The albums are in order of my earliest to most recent finds.)

 

#1 Ed Sheeran – X

ed sheeran x album cover

I was given a copy of ‘X’ for Christmas 2014, and upon receiving it I listened to it every day for pretty much six months. On the whole ‘X’ is a fantastic album that demonstrates Sheeran’s ability to capture his listeners entirely…every song is packed with emotion and demands your attention. I love the seamless mix of the hip-hop and acoustic sound, and no song disappoints – there are some absolute gems here that need to be heard. I’d recommend it to everyone.

To see the full review click here.

 

#2 Taylor Swift – 1989

1989 cover

Whatever your opinion of pop music’s darling, there’s no denying that Taylor Swift is slaying the music industry at the moment. I’ve been a fan of Swift’s music since the early days of ‘Love Story,’ and it’s awesome to see how far she’s come as an artist – deservedly so. I realise she is a little bit like Marmite; some people love her and some people love to hate her, but personally I think ‘1989’ marks a totally new stage in her career. It’s clear that Swift has found her place within the industry and is comfortable in her own skin – and she has every right to be.

To see the full review click here.

 

#3 Rogue Re Vera – Don’t Bet On It, Kid

10671419_10152487563031464_2750659053969245818_n

‘Don’t Bet On It, Kid’ – the debut offering from New York based four-piece Rogue Re Vera – is a well rounded EP that works to showcase not only the band’s sound, but the diversity of it. Full of addictive tracks with insane hooks, the melodies are stunning and the lyrics, and vocals, are always brimming with passion and conviction. Whether it’s ballsy and raw or stripped-back and heartfelt, both are captivating – albeit in totally different ways. It’s clear that Rogue Re Vera are a force to be reckoned with.

To see the full review click here.

 

#4 Snowblind – Snowblind

Snowblind

As I’ve said in previous posts, Snowblind are a band I discovered whilst in Spain towards the end of the summer. I caught their set in a local bar and, after a brief chat with their vocalist, I was passed a copy of their debut self-titled offering – and the rest, as they say, is history. The album has fast become a firm favourite, as has the band. It’s definitely a case of ‘all killer, no filler’, each song bursting at the seams with emotion and passion that seems invariably deep rooted. With such a compelling sound not one track is flimsy or one-dimensional, it makes you wonder why these guys are not mainstream artists – I could definitely see them on the main stage at Reading Festival.

To see the full review click here.

 

#5 Bring Me The Horizon – That’s The Spirit

BMTH album cover

My most recent favourite; I’ve always known of Bring Me The Horizon but I couldn’t really deal with their hardcore/screamo sound of the early days, so my liking of their newer music kind of crept up on me. A far cry from their 2006 debut ‘Count Your Blessings’, ‘That’s The Spirit’ see’s BMTH shift away from their metalcore roots in favour of a more melodic, electronic sound. But die-hard fans need not fear, their trademark aggressive sound is still intact, complete with the gravelly, growl-like vocal tones from Mr. Sykes (but the upside is that you can actually understand it these days.) The result? An awesome album with some pretty anthemic tracks.

Keep an eye out for a full review of ‘That’s the Spirit’ in the next few weeks.

So, there you have it. What do you think of my Top 5 Albums of 2015? Do you agree with my choices? Are there any other albums you’ve been loving that I haven’t included? Feel free to let me know in a comment – I’m always on the lookout for new music.

For regular updates come and join me on:

Facebook & Twitter 🙂

 

Up Next:

Tracks of the Month (January)

Leave a Reply

