Happy New Year. 2015: A Year in Reviews (and Here’s to 2016.)

Happy New Year everyone,

I hope you all had a lovely Christmas and that your New Year is off to a great start. After taking a little break from the internet over the festive season, I’m feeling revitalised, reenergised and ready to get back to blogging.

After not being as active on the blogging front during 2014 I feel as though I upped my game throughout 2015, and as a result I discovered some great new artists, and produced some of my favourite pieces that I’m really proud of. Among these is an article on E4’s hugely popular show ‘Tattoo Fixers,’ which I became a fan of after watching the first series. I really enjoyed writing the article, and apparently you guys enjoyed reading it too as it got 758 views from when it was first published in August, through to the end of the year, which is no mean feat.

Click the picture to see my review of E4’s Tattoo Fixers

Click the picture to see my review of E4’s Tattoo Fixers

Coming in at a close second was my September ‘Tracks of the Month,’ which featured songs from Stevie P and Sketch, as well as a band I discovered in Spain called Snowblind. This review was great to write as both tracks are full of such emotion and conviction that they left a lasting impact; making me just want to listen to them again (and again, and again.) This particular post went on to become the most viewed in a single day, gaining nearly 300 views, which I was chuffed with because I love both songs.

Click the picture to see my September ‘Tracks of the Month’

Click the picture to see my September ‘Tracks of the Month’

Another review I’m really happy with is my Snowblind album review; I was passed a copy of their debut offering while in Spain, and it’s fast become one of my favourite albums, as they have become one of my favourite bands. Their straight-up rock sound boasts beautiful melodies, addictive hooks and stunning vocals; captivating in every sense of the word. I personally think they need to get their music on ITunes so more people can hear it for themselves… so lads if you’re reading this, what’re you waiting for?

Click the picture to see my review of Snowblind’s self-titled album

Click the picture to see my review of Snowblind’s self-titled album

Alongside Snowblind, another artist that I came to be a fan of in 2015, is singer-songwriter and online vlogger, Hobbie Stuart. Stuart has been uploading cover videos, original tracks, and the occasional vlog, to his YouTube channel since 2010. Having amassed over 300,000 subscribers and an impressive 28 million views, the honey-voiced heart-throb also had the opportunity to light up his hometown in December, with an intimate performance before he turned on Brighton’s Christmas lights.

Click the picture to see my review of Hobbie Stuart’s performance in Brighton

Click the picture to see my review of Hobbie Stuart’s performance in Brighton

Now, if you’ve read my blog before then chances are you’ll be familiar with this next band, as they have featured quite heavily since I discovered them in late 2014. Alt-acoustic four piece Rogue Re Vera, are a band that I happened to stumble upon and quickly got into. Following my reviews of their music, they were kind enough to send me a ‘Rogue Re Vera Care Package’ consisting of a t-shirt, a copy of their debut EP, and a handwritten note from vocalist Brittany Brutality. That sort of thing has never happened before so it was a totally unexpected gesture, and I’m hugely grateful for it. It’s always exciting when a band/artist that I’ve written about takes the time to get in touch to say they appreciate what I’ve written, let alone sends me anything, so I never take it for granted.

Click the picture to see my review of Rogue Re Vera’s debut EP ‘Don’t Bet On It, Kid’

Click the picture to see my review of Rogue Re Vera’s debut EP ‘Don’t Bet On It, Kid’

Moving on from 2015 and going into the New Year, I’m looking forward to discovering even more new music and getting to work on reviews, as well as trying my hand at vlogging. I also hope to conduct more artist interviews (seeing as the last interview I did was with Set It Off’s Cody Carson back in 2013 *shocked face*) as that is one of my favourite aspects of what I do. As well as this I plan to finally finish my Throwback Thursday series that I started in 2013, charting the evolution of my music tastes, as that is something I’ve wanted to tackle for a while. I currently have a lot of posts in the works and I’m not short of ideas, so watch this space. 🙂

Click the picture to see my Q&A with Set It Off vocalist Cody Carson

Click the picture to see my Q&A with Set It Off vocalist Cody Carson

Finally, I’d just like to say a massive thank you to everyone who has read my blog this year (or ever.) I know it sounds cliché, but it really does mean the world to me that people take the time to read and engage with what I’ve written, because this is what I’m passionate about and what I love, so I hope you stick around for more throughout 2016 – cheers!

Leave a Reply

