Track(s) of the Month: August

Hey everyone,

The end of August is nigh, so you know what that means? Yes, it’s time for ‘Tracks Of The Month’, and I thought I’d share them with you a few days early :). This is because I’m planning on taking a break over the next few weeks while I sort out other general life things that require my attention, but I’ll be back in mid-late September with more musical musings. So, for now, here are some mini reviews of the tracks that I’ve been addicted to this month.

 

Neck Deep – Gold Steps

I’m kicking off the post with this song because it’s a great slice of pop-punk, full of energy and positive vibes. The lyrics are brimming with optimism – the message being that everyone goes through hard times, but it’s how you deal with them and turn things around. It’s mega inspirational, and just might be able to give a whole new perspective on a situation… After all, “life’s not out to get you, despite the things you’ve been through.”

Also, when I first heard this I thought to myself that it wasn’t too dissimilar to The Story So Far’s sound, so I’d definitely recommend checking them out if you liked this. 🙂

 

Dance Gavin Dance – Lemon Meringue Tie

This track is a total re-discovery for me; I first fell in love with it back in 2010, and it recently came on shuffle on my ITunes and instantly reminded me why I liked it in the first place. I love the guitar work in the intro and I’m a huge fan of the pop/punk/screamo sound – the mix of soulful vocals and raw screams gives a great effect, mixing things up and ensuring the track has a sting in its tail.

 

Fall Out Boy – Uma Thurman (acoustic)

I mentioned this track in my VMAs blog post a few weeks back (confession time: I hadn’t heard it before then! *gasp) and, in true Fall Out Boy style, it’s infectious and fun. It samples – 1960’s television series – The Munster’s theme song, giving it a sound that you might associate with surfer dudes in movies (or an Austin Powers villain.) However, this stripped back version gives the song a whole new feel. The arrangement works beautifully and compliments Stump’s smooth, yet powerful, rock-tinged soul vocals – reiterating what an amazing singer he is, ya’know in case you forgot. Flawless.

I’ve also been listening to Rogue Re Vera’s official EP ‘Don’t Bet On It, Kid’, a lot after being sent a copy by the band (see my vlog on that here.) But, as it’s not just one track, I’ll be doing a full review on that when I’m back after my break – I’ve got so many blog posts that I’m super excited to write.

Have you heard, or do you like, any of the songs that I’ve mentioned here? If not, I hope I inspired you to give them a listen. What songs have you been obsessed with this month? I’m always on the lookout for new music so feel free to let me know in a comment. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Track(s) of the Month: August

  1. Neck Deep is a band I just recently started listening to. Pandora played Can’t Kick Up the Roots so I went and bought the album when it came out. Gold Steps is one of my favorite songs.
    I’ve been listening to the new songs by Mayday Parade (Keep in Mind. Transmogrification is a New Technology) and some of the new Bring Me the Horizon (Throne and Happy Song) this month. I’m really excited to see where a lot of these bands are heading with their sound!

    • I’d ever listened to Neck Deep before, I just stumbled across this track on TV one morning and loved it! I’ve heard some of BMTH’s new stuff recently too and it does sound different to their really early stuff, so I’m interested to see where their sound is going too :). Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

