Tattoo Fixers.

Let me start this off by pointing out that I am in no way saying that you should go out and get tattooed; it’s against the law to get inked if you’re under 18 so if a place/person is willing to tattoo you underage, then maybe you should question if it’s really a good idea to get tattooed by them in the first place. However, everyone of age is entitled to get a tattoo so, if you decide to go ahead with it, always go to a licensed studio and check out the portfolios of the people who are going to work on you.

Little known fact about me: I’m a huge fan of body art. I currently have five tattoos and I think that they can look amazing if they’re done well (I.E by a professional artist,) and if they suit the person. I’ve been interested in tattoos for around six years; the entire process just fascinates me, but getting inked is not something I take lightly. However, there are those out there that do, and that’s something this E4 TV show knows a thing or two about.

tattoo fixers title

If you follow me on Twitter then you may’ve seen me tweet about Tattoo Fixers a fair bit over the last few weeks, and seeing as I’m ecstatic that the show has hit our screens again for a second series, I thought I’d get you up to speed.

Based in London’s Hackney, this pop-up parlour brings together three of the UK’s best artists to right the nation’s inking wrongs. The artists-in-chief include, master of portraits Jay Hutton, animal-loving new girl Alice Perrin, and award-winning South London lad, Sketch. Together with their hilariously sassy, straight-talking receptionist Paisley, they turn your mishaps into masterpieces (complete with a lot of wincing, shocked faces and raised eyebrows – zombie-finger penis tattoo anyone? No I’m not kidding.)

Personally, I have a self-imposed rule that I have to have wanted a certain design for at least six months before I get it – and when you watch this show it’s easy to see why. “I was at a party”, “I was drunk”, “I was on holiday” and “my mate bought a tattoo gun”, are all common opening lines from those who appear, and it’s all too easy for viewers to watch through parted fingers while simultaneously chuckling to themselves and squealing ‘why would you do that?!’ at the TV.

Throughout the first and second series I was hooked, and you’d only need take a look the amount of tweets and re-tweets that adorn my Twitter feed every Tuesday night, to see I’m not the only one. Sketch even shared an article via Digital Spy entitled ‘7 reasons why everyone can’t stop talking about Tattoo Fixers’ (click to check it out.)

There are a few reasons why I personally really enjoy the show. As said, I’m interested in the artistry involved and how it’s done, and it’s funny. From certain clients claiming they prefer being tattooed over sex, to an unfortunate One Direction-looking tattoo that resulted in Sketch quoting their song-titles during the consultation, (insert surprised face here!.) You just never know what’s coming next.

As well as this, I love the idea of all three artists giving their creative input to the vague briefs that people give them, as it allows you to see the different approaches and styles, and gives the client more than one choice. It also helps that each of the resident tattooists (and of course Paisley) come across as extremely down-to-earth, approachable and attentive; when they ask a client what they think of their new body art you can tell they actually care about the answer. One of the instances that really sticks in my mind from series one, was when 75 year-old Abigail was tattooed by Sketch.

Hers was a beautiful story and you could tell the guys were touched by it – having gone in to get a white rose to compliment a scar she has as a result of an operation. After making Sketch blush, with a rather hilarious reference to ‘the horizontal tango’, it was decided that he would do the inking, much to his delight.

In all, Tattoo Fixers looks like a lot of fun to be a part of, and the banter back and forth between the guys always makes for a fun watch – I wouldn’t mind working there myself. I’d actually love to work in a tattoo shop (as an assistant or a receptionist, there’s no way you could let me loose on anyone’s skin!) as I feel that it’s a hugely creative space – which I think is an aspect that’s sometimes overlooked. True, there’s a fair bit of bad ink out there – as this show highlights – but done well there’s a hell of a lot of artistry and passion involved, and it’s an extremely personal experience.

If you fancy checking out Tattoo Fixers, you can catch up on all the episodes on 4OD (where you can also take a look at each of the artists’ bios.) I for one, can’t wait to see what’s in store through the next series – one thing’s for sure #TattooCrushTuesday should definitely be a thing.

 

You can keep up to date with each of the artists on Twitter:

Alice      Jay      Sketch      Paisley

Click here for my follow-up article on spin-off show, ‘Tattoo Fixers On Holiday’,
And, if you’re interested, click here to check out my blog about getting tattooed by Sketch at his studio in Nov 2016.

For regular updates come and join me on:

Facebook & Twitter 🙂

7 thoughts on “Tattoo Fixers.

  1. Pingback: Tracks Of The Month (September) | Sophie Brown.

  2. Pingback: Tracks Of The Month: September | Sophie Brown.

  3. Pingback: Stevie P ft. Sketch – Street Lights (Single Review) | Sophie Brown.

  4. Pingback: We’re All Going on a Summer Holiday: Tattoo Fixers (On Holiday) | Sophie Brown.

  5. Pingback: Tattoo Time: Getting Inked by Sketch at Reppin Ink | Sophie Brown.

  6. Pingback: Stevie P ft. Sketch – Nightmares (Single Review) | Sophie Brown.

  7. Pingback: Artists I’d Like to See Live In 2017 | Sophie Brown.

Leave a Reply

