Jammin’ In July: Track(s) Of The Month

Greetings readers,

It’s that time again! Yes, July is nearing an end (is it just me or is this year going ridiculously quick?) so what better time to share with you the tracks that I’ve been obsessed with over the past month. From a super catchy pop-rock crossover cover, and two songs from a New York-based emerging singer-songwriter, to a pop-punk classic – it’s fair to say it’s a pretty mixed bag!

 

Wake Up Call / Secret Girl – Alex Goot

I’ve known of Alex Goot’s music for a while – I even reviewed one of his earlier songs in a ‘Tracks I’m Loving’ a few years back – and recently I stumbled across a few of his songs again on YouTube, the first of which being ‘Wake Up Call.’

 

‘Wake Up Call’ is a fervently romantic pop track that centres on missing someone and the intensity of that emotion. The verses are soft and understated, allowing the chorus to burst through and grab your attention – giving it maximum impact. The lyrics are honest and passionate, with a sense of realness which, for me, only adds to its beauty. Goot’s passion also comes across in his unique vocals, making his voice more powerful and full of conviction. I love it!

Another of his songs that I’ve been listening to constantly this month is ‘Secret Girl.’

 

A bit more of an up-tempo affair, ‘Secret Girl’ tells the story of having a crush on someone and finally finding the courage to tell them – through song. Goot’s vocals are full of a passionate intensity as he glides through the lower notes and tackles the higher ones with ease, and lyrically still retains that honesty; this man means what he sings. This track has more of an electronic feel in regards to the accompaniment… and I’ve been caught dancing to it in my desk chair more than once!

As you can probably tell, I’m really enjoying Goot’s music at the moment. He actually did a tour of the UK back in June but, as luck would have it, I was on holiday! so I’m hoping that won’t be his only visit because I’d love to catch him live. I’m planning to write a ‘One To Watch’ post on him in the next few weeks, as well as getting my hands on the ‘In Your Atmosphere’ and ‘Wake Up Call’ albums, to either include mini-reviews in the ‘One To Watch’ or to do two separate full-length album reviews at another point. Either way, this won’t be the last you hear of him from me!

 

Tell That Devil – Nashville OST

 

Something that you may not know about me is that I LOVE the TV show Nashville. I’ve wanted to write a post on the show its self for a while, but I also wanted to be sure that it wasn’t something I’d ‘go off’ of, and after three seasons and an upcoming fourth, that shows no signs of happening. The music on the show is chart-quality and all the actors have outstanding musical talent, as well as killer acting chops – you can’t help but get sucked in!

Recently I’ve found myself listening to, and singing, this track a hell of a lot. Performed by Hayden Panettiere (Heroes) the song is full of attitude from the get-go. The smooth tone to Panettiere’s voice gives a sassiness that perfectly reflects the tone of the lyrics, and she hits every note effortlessly, being able to inject bucket-loads of power into her vocal without it sounding strained or forced. A brilliant track that I’d happily turn all the way up if I heard it on the radio.

 

I Really Like You – Chrissy Costanza & MAX

 

I really really really really really really like this cover (see what I did there?! 🙂 .) Originally by Carly Rae Jepsen, this version incorporates a pop-rock sound with a heavier drum beat and an altogether more edgy vibe. The track has also been turned into a duet, with vocals by Against The Current’s Chrissy Costanza and pop solo artist MAX.

I love the vocals on this cover; I think they complement each other brilliantly, but are also strong stand-alone voices in their own right. Chrissy’s vocals are bold and powerful – while still being able to hit higher notes beautifully – and MAX has a deep and husky tone, with a smooth and down-right mesmerising higher range. This, together with the rock accompaniment, makes the song a bit more interesting and gives it a fierce, explosive quality that demands your attention – and holds it.

 

Tell Me I’m A Wreck – Every Avenue

 

Unfortunately, Every Avenue aren’t around anymore 😦 but I’ve recently re-discovered this song and fallen in love with it. Frontman David Strauchman’s vocals are gruff and powerful, set to a fun, upbeat, pop-punk sound with contrasting ‘anti-lovesong’ type lyrics. (‘I told you when you asked I knew this wouldn’t last, at least I could be honest about that.’) Totally addictive.

 

If you got this far, thank you for reading and I hope that I inspired you to give these songs a listen. What tracks have you been obsessed with this month? Feel free to let me know in a comment – I’m always on the lookout for new things to listen to!

For regular updates, come and join me on:

Twitter     &     Facebook

(Would mean the world! 🙂 )

2 thoughts on “Jammin’ In July: Track(s) Of The Month

  1. Pingback: One To Watch: Alex Goot | Sophie Brown.

  2. Pingback: Welcome to: Jammin’ In July! | Sophie Brown.

Leave a Reply

