Summer Playlist 2015

Hola readers,

Thanks for stopping by. If you live in the UK, you may not know it at the moment, but we are in the throes of early summer (I just wish the weather would start playing ball!) The sun has been trying to sneak through the clouds over these past few weeks with some successful (like today), and not so successful, attempts. But being that I’m definitely more of a summer person, I’m getting pretty pumped for some sea, sunshine and hot weather, so I thought I’d share my summer playlist with you.

As a rule, in these ‘Tracks I’m Loving’ / playlist-type posts, I usually include the music video and offer a little review of why I’ve chosen to mention that particular song. However, I’m not going to do that today, simply because my ‘Tracks I’m Loving’ posts are usually a lot shorter and as this list is coming in at 21 picks, if I were to add explanations, this post would be in danger of going on a bit longer than people might prefer.

With that being said, I might offer a few sentences here and there, and if I’ve featured the track before I’ll be sure to link it so you can read my review if you’d like to. Just know that all the songs in this list scream summer to me whenever I hear them; whether that be just chilling on warm days, evenings out with friends or a BBQ or bonfire night on the beach. So, without any more rambling from me, let’s get into it:

 

#1 Robin Schulz ft. Jasmine Thompson – Sun Goes Down

This track is definitely my current favourite – the combination of the beat, voice and lyrics give it major summer night out vibes. I can’t stop listening to it at the moment.

 

#2 The Pierces – Kings

To see my review of this track, click here.

 

#3 Young Kato – Drink, Dance, Play

To see my review of this track, click here.

 

#4 Daft Punk – Get Lucky

The soundtrack to summer 2014 – I couldn’t not include this! To see my review of this track, click here.

 

#5 Calvin Harris ft. Ellie Goulding – I Need Your Love

To see my review of this track, click here.

 

#6 Clean Bandit ft. Jess Glynne – Rather Be

To see my review of this track, click here.

 

#7 Charli XCX – Boom Clap

 

#8 Walk the Moon – Shut Up and Dance

I became aware of this song a few weeks back and, I don’t want to say too much about it because I plan to include it in my June ‘Tracks Of The Month’, but it’s a whirlwind of synths and major dancing vibes that is no doubt going to be huge on the festival circuit this year.

 

#9 Bruno Mars ft. Mark Ronson – Uptown Funk

I feel like this track fits with almost any occasion really, but the 80’s, Prince-esque sound makes it a perfect summer jam. To see my previous review, click here.

 

#10 Foster the People – Pumped Up Kicks

The dreamy kind of quality at play here is just perfect for this time of year.

 

#11 Mike Posner – Cooler Than Me

 

#12 Cee Lo Green – Forget You

This song is just fun to belt out in the majority of situations, driving along singing this at the top of your lungs in the car with friends is always a sure-fire way to have some laughs.

 

#13 The Cab – Stand Up

 

#14 The Summer Set – Lightning In a Bottle

Ok so, it took me so damn long to narrow it down to just one offering from this pop/rock five-piece. You can’t go far wrong with this band (if their name didn’t already give it away) in terms of summer vibes. ‘Someone Like You’ would also work well, as would ‘Boomerang’, ‘Young’, ‘Chelsea’…I just gravitated more towards this one because, I feel that the picture painted in the lyrics could describe a summer evenings antics.

 

#15 Robbie Coles – Hey Summer

The title says it all really. To see my review of this track, click here.

 

#16 Room 94 – Chasing the Summer

Again: the title, the lyrics – great summer anthem. To see my previous review of this song, click here.

 

#17 Parachute – She (For Liz)

 

#18 Feeder – Buck Rogers

Major festival vibes.

 

#19 Blake Shelton ft. The Pistol Annies and Friends – Boys Round Here

The country lilt to this track makes it a great choice to blast in the sun.

 

#20 Andy Jordan – A Whole Lot of Water

Again, not going to say too much about this one right now as I have a ‘One To Watch’ on Andy Jordan planned for… the future. But there’s a real, almost, reggae-esque feel to this song. The acoustic instrumental also creates quite a chilled-out vibe which I think is perfect for a lazy day on the beach, and a great fit for the season.

 

#21 Pharrell Williams – Happy

Again, I feel like this song was the soundtrack to last summer. I think it’s amazing no matter what time of year it is, but everything about it just lends its self perfectly to this time of year (because sunshine just makes everyone that bit happier!) To see my previous review, click here.

If you got this far, thank you for reading and I hope I’ve got you a bit more psyched for summer. Now I put it to you, what do you think of my choices? Do you think there are any other songs I should’ve included? Let me know!

One thought on “Summer Playlist 2015

  1. Pingback: One To Watch – Andy Jordan | Sophie Brown.

Leave a Reply

