Journaling In January: Tracks I’m Loving (Part One)

Hi everyone, I hope you’re having a great week so far.

This ‘Journaling In January’ post is going to be a ‘Tracks I’m Loving’ but, as you may have guessed from the title, it’s going to be a little different as there’s more than one part to it. The reason for that is, I again have a few months to catch up on – and some of these are from even further back – so my list was coming in at eight tracks, which I thought may be a bit too long.

So I decided to break it up a bit, so as not to bombard you with my words, make it more manageable and do two lists of four rather than one long list of eight. So, this first four are my favourites from a while back, and tomorrow’s four will be the tracks from the end of 2014, so we can start a fresh list for the New Year.

Right, enough rambling from me, let’s get into it…

 

# 1 Clarity (cover) – Tanner Patrick

This stripped back cover of Grammy award-winning track Clarity – originally released by music producer/DJ, Zedd, and featuring vocals by Foxes – replaces the dance-beat and ‘club banger’ feel with an acoustic guitar, allowing the sentimentality of the lyrics to really shine.

Performed by pop/acoustic artist Tanner Patrick, hailing from Dallas Texas, the track doesn’t drown in a million effects or vocal licks; he doesn’t need it. Tanner’s smooth tone adds a whole new element to the song – it’s easy to see why his YouTube channel has over 613,000 subscribers.

 

#2 Ghost – Ella Henderson

I first heard this track when Henderson performed it on Britain’s Got Talent back in May, and it immediately struck me as being very reminiscent of an old school Kelly Clarkson, both vocally and musically. The song is jaunty, with a great beat and some darker undertones in the lyrics.

The former X Factor UK finalist has blossomed into a star in her own right, with Ghost and her debut album – the aptly named Chapter One – both topping the UK charts. When she left X Factor a myriad of celebrities came out in support of Henderson, and with a voice like hers it’s easy to see, or hear, why. I can only predict bigger things for her this year.

 

#3 Kings – The Pierces

I said in a blog post a while back that 2014 was the first time I’d been on holiday in four years (yes, four years!) and this song hugely reminds me of being in Spain. Every time I hear it, it takes me back to driving in the car with the window open, the warm air in my face and the sun shining.

The song, performed by New York based sisters Allison and Catherine Pierce, has a fantastical, dreamy feel to it. The lilting tone is very relaxing and full of summer vibes.

 

#4 Happy – Pharrell Williams

I had a look back through my previous ‘Tracks I’m Loving’ to make sure I didn’t repeat any entries, and I couldn’t believe I hadn’t mentioned this beforehand. Unless you’ve been living under a rock for the past year you must’ve heard the song – taken from the Dispicable Me 2 soundtrack – it reached number one in the UK, US and 22 other countries. It has also been named one of the best-selling singles of all time, and scooped Song of the Year at 2014’s BBC Music Awards.

Written, produced and performed by Williams, the song showcases his brilliant falsetto and has an upbeat, soulful vibe to it – making it the perfect summer jam. You can’t help but smile when you hear it…c’mon everyone, ‘because I’m happyyyyyyyyyyy.’

 

Thanks for reading, feel free to let me know in the comments what you think of the songs; if you like them, or if you don’t. Be sure to check back tomorrow for the rest of the list from Nov – Dec.

#JournalingInJan

 

 

2 thoughts on “Journaling In January: Tracks I’m Loving (Part One)

  1. Pingback: Journaling In January: Tracks I’m Loving (Part Two) | Sophie Brown.

  2. Pingback: Summer Playlist 2015 | Sophie Brown.

Leave a Reply

