The Cab Day 2014.

Hola symphony soldiers,

If you follow my blog at all, cast your mind waaaaaay back to September 2012 and you may remember a daily segment I did called ‘The Cab Week’ in the run up to the UK release of the band’s second album Symphony Soldier. (Don’t worry if you can’t remember back that far, you can check it out here.)

Well, as I’m sure all of you Cab fans out there already know, today marks another special event in the band’s history. Today is The Cab Day, an anniversary created by the fans to honour the release of their first album Whisper War, so I thought it’d be rude not to post a little something as they have been one of my favourite bands for the past three years.

the cab day

I first heard about The Cab after a friend at uni said that she thought I’d like them, so at her suggestion I gave them a listen one day after searching for them online.

The first track I listened to was ‘Bounce’ and I was immediately captivated by the pop/rock sound, then Alex DeLeon’s vocals dropped in and I was pretty much hooked; continuing to listen to tracks like ‘Take My Hand’ and ‘One Of Those Nights’ – featuring Panic! At The Disco’s Brendon Urie and Fall Out Boy frontman Patrick Stump. Then, my journalistic tendencies kicked in and, I decided to look them up on YouTube to see if they were as good live as they sounded on record and I found two videos that really cemented my love for the band.

It was gig footage of the guys playing a show in San Diego in 2010 that really made me fall in love with them; the energy they had onstage and the pitch-perfect range of DeLeon’s vocals really made me think ‘ok yeah, I need to hear more of these guys.’ This subsequently led to me including them in one of my ‘Tracks I’m Loving’ posts in June 2011; the first of many blog posts to come.

 

Since then I’ve mentioned the guys many times on my blog, from my introduction post to reviews, I’ve also had the pleasure of meeting singer Alex DeLeon and guitarist/pianist Alex Marshall when they crossed the pond into London; the former, more than once – which you can check out here, here and here. I’ve also, after getting in touch with the band’s manager, had the chance to interview the band via email for this very blog.

The Cab

Click here to read the interview

As said I’ve written about the band many times across this site and music is love, and I hope that one day they’ll finally do a UK tour and I’ll be able to interview them in person.

Now, some of you may be sitting there thinking ‘yeah, but it’ll never be the original line-up’, and yes, sadly that’s true. I would have loved to have seen them back in the pop/rock days and chatted to them, but there’s no point in being negative about things you can’t change.

There have been some pretty significant line-up changes over the years, so much so that Alex DeLeon is currently the only original member of the band left; this follows an announcement earlier this week that Alex Marshall had also parted ways with The Cab, just before the release of their new EP Lock Me Up.

The Cab lock me up EP cover

Released today, after weeks of online teasers referring to new music and The Cab Day, Lock Me Up is a five track EP including, ‘Lock Me Up’, ‘Moon’, ‘Numbers’, ‘Stand Up’ and ‘These Are The Lies’, and it’s a world away from anything The Cab have ever done.

They’ve completely shed the rock vibe that was present in Whisper War and – admittedly less so – in Symphony Soldier, and have gone in a more mainstream R’n’B/pop direction; at points sounding very reminiscent of Maroon 5.

While it isn’t bad by any stretch of the imagination, it might take some getting used to for fans who have known them from the early days and their more rock sound.

Check out the album teaser below:

 

What do you think? Is it a bit of a drastic/unexpected jump, or just a natural progression of the artist’s changing personal taste reflected in their music?

I do like it but I think you almost have to put it out of your mind what they’ve sounded like previously and take it for what it is, rather than comparing it to what has been before.

I’ll be posting a full review of the EP next week so come join me on Facebook or Twitter for more information on when that goes live.

Thanks for reading and Happy #TheCabDay!

Leave a Reply

