Tracks I’m Loving

Hi everyone,

I haven’t posted a ‘Tracks I’m Loving’ for quite a while, and that is because the majority of what I’ve been listening to hasn’t been a mix of singles, but rather entire albums.

A friend of mine once asked me, how many people will hear something nowadays and think ‘oh yeah this is the tits!’ and listen to it for six months?

Well… *slowly raises hand – guilty!

From October through to mid February I was constantly listening to Cinematics by orchestral pop/rockers Set It Off, with some Demi Lovato thrown in there. Then, from late Feb up until a few weeks ago I was addicted to You Me At Six’s newest offering Cavalier Youth, and – since seeing them live in Brixton – pop/punk four piece All Time Low have been the soundtrack to my morning (and evening) commute.

So, I thought I may as well just do an album review of Cavalier Youth at a later date, being that I’ve talked about Set It Off and All Time Low in previous posts.

With that being said, there are two tracks that I’ve been spinning a lot these last few weeks that I couldn’t not include:

 

Paramore – Still Into You

 

So, admittedly I’m a little bit late to the party with this one, but I’m really glad that I finally gave it a listen.

Initially I shied away from Paramore’s more recent music, because when I first heard ‘Now’ – the lead single from their 2013 self titled album – it left a lot to be desired. But I came across this song as I was flicking through music channels one day, and it immediately caught my attention.

It’s a storm of pop/punk party fun that has everything we know and love Paramore for. Hayley’s vocals are on point as always, and the track has a jaunty, playful vibe to it – the music video being a great reflection of that.

 

All Time Low – Therapy

 

In Contrast, power ballad Therapy by All Time Low has more of a sombre feel to it. Overflowing with raw emotion, it’s enough to give you chills – I know I get them every time I hear it.

Again, I hadn’t listened to this song ‘properly’ until I saw Alex Gaskarth play it acoustically when I saw All Time Low live in Brixton a few weeks ago, but this particular track elicited such a strong reaction from the crowd that you couldn’t help but be enthralled by it.

The combination of the delicate arrangement and honest, heartfelt lyrics seemed to spark something within the crowd, and the sound of a sell-out audience singing along to the words in unison was nothing short of beautiful. Now whenever I hear it, it takes me back to that moment and the entrancing atmosphere.

It’s a stunning song that, evidently, means something to a lot of people.

 

UP NEXT:

  • Review of ambient/electro musician Darren K’s debut EP
4 thoughts on “Tracks I’m Loving

  1. I am totally with you on Paramore. I was SO into them (lol, excuse the unintended pun) I got obsessed with the for a while, loved their first three albums and went to go see them in concert which was amazing. They were my fave’s, but their new album hasn’t sparked much interest in my at all. And it makes me sad because I really WANTED to like it as well. Maybe I haven’t listened to the songs enough to get hooked, I don’t know. Something seemed like it was missing. Still Into You is the standout for me. ‘Now’ I didn’t like at ALL when I first heard on it but after a few listens it really grew on me. Not fussed about the rest of the album though. :/

    • Haha! 🙂 Yeah I know what you mean, I kinda lost it with them after their R!OT album tbh, I didn’t mind Brand New Eyes but it didn’t grab me in the same way. Oh cool, I’ve never seen them live but I know Hayley’s amazing! Was it back in the
      R!OT days?

      Nah, I completely agree with you! When I first heard Now I felt like something was lacking and I really wasn’t bothered by it, it was like they stripped themselves of everything that makes them them, but Still Into You is a step back in to what we love them for! Ahh maybe I need to give it more of a chance 😉

      I haven’t heard the rest of the album really, it’s a shame because once you hear one or two tracks you don’t like it kinda puts you off buying the whole album…hmmpfff. Just one of those things I spose :/

      Thanks for reading! 😀

      • Nah it was for Brand New Eyes. Riot still remains my favourite too! I agree, Brand New Eyes didn’t grab me at first but now I really love it. Strange how that happens. Hayley was absolutely amazing, the whole concert was so energetic and had a brilliant vibe to it. 🙂

        No problem!

      • Yeah I agree, that album is more of a grower. You get that with some albums, they kind of sneak up on you 🙂 She’s one of the few vocalists that sounds as amazing live as she does recorded. Ahh I can imagine, I love gigs like that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

