Top 3 Albums of 2013.

Hey everyone,

Sorry for the delay on this, I originally wanted to have it posted on the 30th, but I’m sure you can appreciate it was pretty hectic being new year and all.
But as the title suggests, I’m going to be sharing with you my top 3 albums of 2013, because 5 is too many and who can pick just one?!

I was also thinking of doing a ‘Top 10 Singles’ post but, considering that I do ‘Tracks I’m Loving’ posts throughout the year, I didn’t really see much point as it’s essentially the same thing.

 

The Summer Set – Legendary

The-Summer-Set-Legendary-2013-1200x1200

Legendary is the third full-length album from pop-rockers The Summer Set. The Arizona based five piece released their newest offering on April 15th in the UK, nearly two years after their sophomore album Everything’s Fine.

Legendary saw the quintet go back to their roots, bringing back the pop-rock party that we first fell in love with them for, with insanely addictive tracks like ‘Boomerang’, ‘Lightning In A Bottle’ and the cheekily named, ‘Fuck You Over’.

However, there is still a good mix of tempos and emotions here. From the inspirational ‘Maybe Tonight’ and ‘Someday’, to title track ‘Legendary’, a heartfelt song about the realisation that you’ve lost your way and you’re trying to find it, complete with How I Met Your Mother and Peter Pan references.

“I just wanna be legendary, yeah we all wanna be legendary to somebody.” Well I’d say that The Summer Set are legendary to quite a few somebodies.

Check out my previous review of ‘Maybe Tonight’ HERE

 

 

Elissa Franceschi – Devoid Of Rue

front2_cmyk

I’m not going to go into too much detail as to why I chose this EP as, if you follow my blog at all, you may remember that I did a more in-depth, track by track review back in August shortly after its release.

With that in mind, there’s not much more I can say about it without repeating myself, so if you’d like to know why this EP made it into my ‘Top 3 Albums of 2013’ click HERE.

The review received a lot of positive feedback, with Elissa herself calling it “wonderful.”

 

 

Set It Off – Cinematics

setitoffreissue

Again, if you follow my blog at all, then you may remember that I got the chance to interview Set It Off frontman Cody Carson back in October, after their set at The Electric Ballroom in Camden supporting Tonight Alive.

I’ll be honest, I hadn’t heard any of Set It Off’s music before that night, but as soon as their set was over, I pretty much raced over to the merch table and bought the album. It showcases the band’s orchestral pop/rock brilliantly – and you’re definitely getting your money’s worth – with 16 killer tracks including the acoustic version of their poignant, inspiring track ‘Dream Catcher’, and a Mira remix of ‘I’ll Sleep When I’m Dead’.

There’s a heavy theatrical element running through this album too, with Cody Carson’s heavily expressive vocals, and concept tracks like ‘Partners In Crime’ telling stories. ‘I’ll Sleep When I’m Dead’ sounds like a monologue, complete with a chilling nursery rhyme intro and creepy maniacal laughs.

But, amongst the tunefully chaotic numbers that are sure to get crowds moving – like ‘Plastic Promises’ and ‘Kill The Lights’ – there are also some extremely heartfelt and captivating songs in the form of, the aforementioned, ‘Dream Catcher’ and ‘Dad’s Song’, an emotional tribute to Carson’s father who passed away in 2008 after battling cancer.

It really is a fantastic album, and it lends its self to performance due to the theatricality weaving through it.
Check out my interview with vocalist Cody Carson HERE.)

 

  • Demi Lovato’s latest album ‘Demi’ just missed out on inclusion, as I have been addicted to a few of the singles from the album in the last few weeks, but as it was so close to the end of the year these albums have been in my life for longer. 🙂

 

UP NEXT:

  • 2013 Thank you’s + on to 2014
  • One To Watch: Issues
7 thoughts on “Top 3 Albums of 2013.

  1. Oooooh, nice picks and I liked your reasons for choosing them. 🙂 I definitely recognised Franceschi from your previous posts, does that get me a gold star? 😉 I love the album cover for The Summer Set. Tis so symmetrical and colourful and pretty!

    I think my favourite album from this year (I think it’s from this year) would have to be Imagine Dragons – Night Visions. I have listened to it so much, the songs are upbeat and fun, but not so distracting that I can’t use them as background music too. I have also extremely overplayed all things The Civil Wars this year, and proud. 😛

    Hope you have a great 2014!

  2. Thanks Becky! Has it persuaded you to give any of them a listen? 😛
    Yes, definitely! 1 gold star to you 🙂 It is a great cover, it’s really simple but it definitely catches your attention.

    Ahh that’s cool, I had a friend at uni who was really into them. I’ve heard some of their stuff in passing but I’ve never really checked it out… It sounds good though so maybe I should haha. Night Visions was 2012, but tbf Cinematics was 2012 but it was new to me this year so…*shrugs*. Imagine Dragons did put out a live album in 2013 though 🙂

    Weirdly enough the first time I ever spoke to Elissa Franceschi she told me to check out a song by The Civil Wars, I’ll have to dig out the transcription and see what track it was.

    Thank you, and to you! Thanks for always reading! Here’s to many more blog posts haha 🙂

    • I’m quite tempted to give The Summer set a listen. 🙂

      Ahh right, to be honest I’ve never looked into when it was released but the cover looked quite recent so I guessed at 2013. I only started listening to them this year so I will go with your logic. 😛

      No way, that’s so funny! She has gooood taste. 🙂

      Indeed!

  3. Pingback: Journaling In January: Top 5 Bands I’d Love to See in 2015. | Sophie Brown.

  4. Pingback: Where have I been?! | Sophie Brown.

  5. Pingback: Artists I’d Like to See Live In 2017 | Sophie Brown.

Leave a Reply

