Tracks I’m Loving

Hey everyone,

Thanks for stopping by. First thing’s first, I hope you all had a great Christmas and Boxing day, and were able to spend it with the people that mean most to you.

I thought about doing a post before Christmas thanking everyone – whether it be readers, managers, PR reps, or band members – for allowing me to do interviews or giving me positive feedback on reviews, supporting my blog throughout the year and allowing me to do what I love. However, I thought it would make more sense for me to do that closer to new year, so I can go into the new year with that.

So, for now I’m just posting a ‘Tracks I’m loving’ with my most recent picks that I constantly have on repeat right now, aside from Xmas favourites like Fairytale of New York by The Pogues and Michael Buble’s Christmas (Baby Please Come Home.) 😉


You Me At Six – Fresh Start Fever

 

The lads from Surrey are back with the fiery second single from their highly anticipated fourth album, Cavalier Youth.

Musically, Fresh Start Fever is very in-keeping with previous single Lived A Lie, in that it strays further away from the carefree pop/punk sound that we first fell in love with, and into the more mature pop/rock territory of previous album Sinners Never Sleep. The lyrics also seem to somewhat reflect this transition, “Everybody loves the original, everybody’s got time to be cynical.”

The verses have a very dark and tense quality, giving the chorus even more of an eruptive feel, relieving the pent-up aggression and injecting some positivity into the song. “Welcome to the future, dream a little bigger.” It’s a track that has plenty of fire in its belly and will not be deterred, it’s a fresh start fever.

From the pop/rock sounds of YMAS to hip-hop…

 

Jurassic Five ft. Nelly Furtado – Thin Line

 

So, I’m pretty sure we all have that one friend of the opposite sex that we get on really well with, yet everyone else can’t wrap their heads around the fact that you’re not together. You might joke around and have a bit of playful banter back and forth but that’s all it is, yet no matter how many times you say that you’re just friends people just don’t get it.  Well that’s pretty much where my liking of this song comes from.

It flows really well and it’s really easy to listen to, with a steady beat that gives the track some bounce. Nelly Furtado’s vocals give it a lighter, more melodic feel against the deeper male rap-style voices, and it’s got some great lyrics, “my pen drips as I scribble my thoughts on thin strips, of emotion.”

Even if you’re not the biggest hip-hop fan, I’d say give this song a listen, it may surprise you.

 

Demi Lovato – Neon lights

 

I love me some Demi Lovato, and this track is no exception. Her newest single Neon Lights is an up-tempo dance track that see’s her treading new ground, moving away from pop music and into ‘club banger’ territory, with electro-pop, dance and EDM influences.

The track has a great beat and the chorus has a synth based rhythm that I dare you to stand still to. Lovato’s vocals are stellar as always and also see her pushing boundaries as she belts the chorus’, and it works.

It’s fun, and infectious…I can’t get enough at the moment.

 

Room 94 – When I Was A Teenager

 

Hertfordshire based pop/rockers Room 94 are at it again. Their newest single from upcoming debut album No Strings Attached is – in true Room 94 style – fun, bursting with youthful energy, and just a little bit cheeky.

The track opens with a lilting riff that will instantly make you think of summer holidays and hot days chilling by the pool, and the lyrics tell playful tales of carefree mischief. “All I wanted was a fake ID, so I could drink beer with my KFC.” The chorus kicks things up a notch as it slams through, full of typical teenage defiance, “don’t tell me to sort it out like I’m 33, ‘coz I had life all figured out when I was 16.”

It’s full of attitude which could see it become a teenage anthem, and while it admittedly may not be their best song, it’s definitely fun, and Room 94 are all about partying and having a good time.

 

Miley Cyrus – Wrecking Ball

 

I know this is going to be a controversial choice but I like it. When most people think of Wrecking Ball they think of the music video, am I right? I’ll admit that the nature of the music video was a bit much, like ‘was that really necessary?’, but I feel like the controversial content of the video has completely overshadowed the song its self.

At its core it’s a beautifully poignant power ballad about trying to hold onto someone. Now, I don’t know if I’m biased because I can hugely relate to the song lyrically, but I feel like there’s now a preconception of Miley Cyrus whereby people may not like her behaviour so they’ll immediately write off her music as well. But if you can get past who’s singing it, the story of the song is heart-wrenching and extremely relatable.

If you don’t like the song that’s fair enough, but I sometimes think that lyrically it’s been overlooked because, I personally think it’s stunning.

 

Ed Sheeran – Give Me Love

 

Do I even need to explain this? It’s beautiful. Simple as.

UP NEXT:

  • My top 3 albums of 2013
  • New Year Thank you’s 🙂
4 thoughts on “Tracks I’m Loving

  1. I too really like wrecking ball but I can’t watch it with the video. For me it completely overshadows the music instead of enhancing it which is not good. When I first head it without the video I was blown away! I’m loving Demi at the moment too.

    I hope you had a great Christmas! 🙂

    • I agree, that was exactly my point, it’s a shame because it’s such a beautiful song! I made sure I didn’t post the official video with it haha.
      Me too! I don’t know what it is but lately I can’t stop listening to her.

      Aww, thanks Becky! And as ever thanks for reading and commenting, I hope you had a fantastic Christmas…and I look forward to all the book reviews we’re no doubt going to get as a result in the new year 😀

  2. Pingback: Where have I been?! | Sophie Brown.

Leave a Reply

