Where have I been?!

Hola WordPress, long time no…talk I guess.

I haven’t posted a blog in a while, and I just wanted to take the time to explain why that is. Although with that being said, I’m not going to get too personal or go into too much detail because it’s called a ‘private life’ for a reason. 🙂

If I’m being completely honest, since I left university my self-motivation has been up and down. I’ve always been in education, so as you can probably imagine, it was nice to relish in the time off and not have to worry about work or deadlines. However, once the summer was over and September rolled around, I knew I had to pull my socks up and start being productive again, looking for work and keeping myself busy by blogging and making my own work. But the job search remains uneventful and, as is life, things pop up that require your immediate attention or zap your energy, in which case when you’re done, the last thing you’re thinking about is doing more work. You just want to relax and forget about the other stresses going on in your head.

As time went on I became more and more run down, and because of that was not in the greatest frame of mind. Then over the last few weeks everyone in my house got really bad colds – which didn’t help the motivation issue – and over the last month I’ve been pretty ill and just generally not quite with it. So understandably, I didn’t really want to write. I didn’t want to feel like I was forcing myself to write a blog when, simply put, I wasn’t feeling it. Because the whole reason I do this – and music journalism in general – is because I love and enjoy it, and I like that enthusiasm to come across in my posts. I want my work to have an upbeat and positive quality to it, I don’t want people to read my work and think it’s drab or boring because…who wants that? So to write a blog when I wasn’t feeling up to it didn’t feel right to me, I wouldn’t feel like it was as good as it can be.

I’ve had/have no shortage of ideas for blogs over the last few months – I’ve had them all written in a list on my desktop – and there have been times when I’ve thought ‘right, I’m going to get these done. I’ll do this one, this day, and this one, this day…’, and I originally planned to have them all done by Christmas, but I just haven’t had the energy.

However, I’ve recently been actively trying to get things sorted, and I’m slowly starting to feel like my old self again. It’s not an overnight thing and it’s going to take a while, but I became so focused on – and stressed out about – things like family issues, finding a job and thinking about the future, that I forgot to do things that make me happy in the here and now. So I’m slowly trying to rectify that, as well as get my health sorted, because if I can get that sorted and stop worrying, then surely my state of mind and motivation will follow.

So, I won’t get them done by Christmas and I’m not going to make promises on when I’m going to get them done, but you can expect,

With some more reviews and, probably, ‘Tracks I’m Loving’ posts in there as well.

So that’s all I have to say for now really, I just wanted to explain what I’ve been upto and why I’ve been so MIA on here recently. So, just bare with me and I hope to get back into the swing of things over the next few weeks as I start to feel better. I hope you’re all getting into the Christmas spirit, and if you don’t celebrate Christmas then I hope you’re having a good day/week, and that you continue to enjoy reading my blog.

Thanks for reading. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Where have I been?!

Leave a Reply

