Tracks I’m Loving, Let’s Play Catch Up.

Hey everyone. So I’ll be honest this blog is going back a couple of months, but because I’m so sick of being behind with these ‘Tracks I’m Loving’ posts I’m using this one to get up to speed *thumbs up*.

The reason I tend to get behind is because when I like something, I’m one of these people who can listen to it non stop for weeks and weeks, which is exactly what I’ve been doing. So this post will be a little bit different, in terms of less video content, as a lot of the tracks are ones that I’ve mentioned in previous posts or are pretty well-known.

Along with a couple of new additions, I’ve been listening to a lot of The Summer Set’s newest album Legendary, and I had Room 94’s Superstar, and Robbie Coles’ Hey Summer on repeat for a while. (Feel free to check out my reviews of both singles HERE and HERE respectively.)

I also really got back into The Script – particularly Hall Of Fame and If You Could See Me Now – after being completely addicted to The Voice, and All Time Low after digging out their live session EP. I love hearing live versions of tracks, in particular here I liked the differences in vocal tones and the energy of the band vibing off each other, Jack Barratt’s playful little interjections also give it a relaxed feel. I also really dig Time-Bomb, Somewhere In Neverland and Backseat Serenade, which features guest vocals from Ex-Hey Monday front-woman and The Voice USA winner, Cassadee Pope.

 

If you’re a regular follower of my blog, then you may also know that I did a pretty hefty review of Elissa Franceschi’s newest EP Devoid Of Rue a while back. The feedback I got from that was great, Elissa tweeted me and said she thought it was “wonderful” and shared it on both her Twitter and Facebook pages. I was so grateful and pleased that she liked it, and it was pretty awesome for me considering that I’m a really big fan of her music. So it’s pretty much a given that I was hooked on that for a while.

Click to see my review

Click to see my review

There was also a period, particularly after THAT performance/reunion at The VMA’s, that I was listening to a lot of old school ‘Nsync and Justin Timberlake. (Prepare for the fan-girl moment here!)

 

I mean come on! his vocals are stunning as ever, and he’s undeniably an amazing performer, plus ‘N Sync…tour please! I also fell in love with a few tracks from Timberlake’s new album – namely Suit & Tie, Take Back The Night and Dress On – all of which are smooth and effortless.

Speaking of smooth and effortless vocals, Robin Thicke’s another one worth noting. I know there’s been a lot of controversy and whatever else surrounding his chart hit Blurred Lines, but personally I like the song. It is abundantly clear that Thicke is an astounding vocalist, positively sleek and drenched in soul, with a tone that oozes seductiveness. I watched a video of him from Radio One’s Live Lounge and was struck by how at ease he was, projecting and hitting every note perfectly without breaking a sweat.

 

Lastly, partly due to her inclusion on The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones soundtrack and simply because I think she’s amazingly talented, I’ve re-discovered my love for Demi Lovato. I watched her Stay Strong documentary that has been shown on MTV and it really struck a chord with me. In a previous ‘Tracks…’ post I mentioned how I was in complete awe of her song Skyscraper, so I decided to dig out some of the older tracks, in particular Fix A Heart, Give Your Heart A Break, and my personal favourite Believe In Me.

 

I’ve also been listening to her newer singles like Made In The USA, and the fiercely romantic Heart by Heart which, as said, features on the City Of Bones soundtrack.

 

Anyways, that’s it for now and if you’ve made it this far into the post, thanks for reading! I’ll be resuming my 2-3 posts a week schedule this week. I’ve got a (finally!) up to date ‘Tracks I’m Loving’ post coming for ya, and some reviews on some really great bands that I can’t wait to get started on. 😀

2 thoughts on “Tracks I’m Loving, Let’s Play Catch Up.

  1. Absolutely adore Demi’s voice! I didn’t realise she had done a documentary recently, it sounds interesting, I will definitely have to search that out. Have to admit I’m not a fan of blurred lines at all, I don’t like the song – or the uncut video. I will admit it is very catch though, I sometimes find myself singing along even when I don’t want to. Was highly impressed with Justin’s performance too. 🙂

    Great post Sophie, really enjoyed reading your thoughts as always! And congrats on getting a reply from Ellisa, that’s so awesome that she took the time to read it, and enjoyed it. 😀

  2. I agree Becky, her voice is stunning! definitely couldn’t label her as ‘just another Disney girl’. Yeah it was called ‘Stay Strong’, I’m sure if you google it it’ll come up. It was just one of those things where I was watching it and for someone who I think is so beautiful and so talented but who doesn’t necessarily see that about themselves, it was just really emotional.
    Ahh you’re not the only one, each to their own 🙂 to be honest I never really cared enough to watch the uncut video, but like you say it’s ridiculously catchy. It’s more about the vocals for me, I’m just a total sucker for male vocalists with that kind of honey-voiced tone that has a little bit of a husky edge. And as for JT… man can do no wrong! haha.
    Aww thanks Becky! I’m glad someone does, I have a tendency to second guess myself so it’s always great to hear that someone likes my work and actually cares enough to read it 🙂 Yeah she’s awesome! I’ve interviewed her a few times before but this review I just did on my own, so it was an amazing bonus to hear that she thought so highly of it! I’ve been a fan of her, and her brother, for over 4 years so I had a bit of a fan-girl moment! haha.

Leave a Reply

