Tracks I was Loving (June edition)

So here’s another Tracks I’m Loving catch up, here are the tracks that I couldn’t get enough of throughout late May – June.

Demi Lovato – Heart Attack

 

This song speaks to me on a personal level, which is my main reason for loving it so much. I can really identify with it lyrically and relate to the message of the song. The track its self has quite an abrupt feel to it and is a step in more of an edgy direction, but still stays within the pop realm. Demi’s vocals are spot on in terms of conveying the emotion of the lyrics, as well as showcasing her powerful range. It’s not an easy song to sing, and I think Demi does a great job.

 

Passenger – Let Her Go

 

The second single from Passenger’s debut album, ‘Let Her Go’ was a massive chart hit. Reaching number 2 in the UK and number 1 in a host of other countries, this folky, guitar driven ballad is gentle and beautiful in its simplicity. The delicate instrumental allows the distinctive vocals and poetic lyrics to take centre stage here, “you only need the light when it’s burning low, only miss the sun when it starts to snow, only know you love her when you let her go.” It’s a poignant song that will undoubtedly make you feel something.

 

Leighton Meester – A Little Bit Stronger

 

Ok, so I have Becky from Blogs Of A Bookaholic to thank for this one. I’m a huge fan of country music and I’m so glad she introduced me to this song. It’s a  track about believing in yourself and your inner strength in the face of pain. Meester’s vocals are great at conveying the emotion of the song, switching between soft and powerful effortlessly, and the lyrics are inspirational and empowering. Even if you’re not such a fan of ‘country’ music I’d strongly recommend giving this song a chance, the message and ethos of it renders the genre almost irrelevant, it could just as easily be a pop crossover track that you’d typically hear from the likes of Taylor Swift. It’s another one of those tracks that I can relate to personally, and I’m sure a lot of other people can. “I’m telling myself I’ll be okay, even on my weakest days, I get a little bit stronger.”

 

Daft Punk – Get Lucky

 

Simply put this is a great party song perfect for blasting in the summer sunshine, and with such a repetitively catchy chorus, I dare you not to sing along.

 

Action Item – Learn to Fly

 

I’d never heard of these guys until I saw them supporting The Summer Set at KCLSU in May, (click HERE for review) but they put on a great show and their sunshiney pop/rock fun was infectious. After seeing them live I decided to check out their stuff online, and this song didn’t disappoint. With an insanely catchy chorus and Brian Cag’s sleek and smooth vocals, you can see why they’ve already got support slots with the likes of Selena Gomez and Boys Like Girls under their belts. Produced by Nick Jonas, the recorded version of the song is definitely more geared towards the pop end of the spectrum but that needn’t be, and in this case isn’t, a bad thing. A great slice of upbeat, summery pop music.
I’m also loving their track ‘Last Day of Summer’.

 

For Our Hero – Young Wolves (ft. Alex DeLeon)

 

I came across this song completely by chance, but I’m so glad I did because I really like it. While the lyrics are a bit weak at times, “got a mouth like a motel, body like a bus route”, these Aussie pop-rockers definitely know how to write a good hook. The verses act as a great build up, the track has an awesome bridge, and the crashing chorus is so addictive – lyrically and musically – that it somewhat makes up for what the earlier lyrics lack. Alex DeLeon of The Cab also makes a guest appearance during the middle-eight, and his smooth, fluid, note-perfect vocals are a great fit. So, despite some of the lyrics letting it down slightly, that can almost be forgiven as it is a pretty great song that you’ll no doubt want to hear again, I know I did.

 

I’ve also been listening to Elissa franceschi’s newest EP ‘Devoid of Rue’ a lot recently, you can check it out on Soundcloud, (link below) and it’s also available from ITunes. Full review coming soon.

(https://soundcloud.com/#elissafranceschi/sets/elissa-franceschi-devoid-of-1)

5 thoughts on “Tracks I was Loving (June edition)

  1. Yaaaay A Little Bit Stronger! I love that song it never fails to impress me, I’m glad you liked it. 🙂

    I love Heart Attack too, it’s so fun to belt out when no one else is around!

    • Haha 🙂 it’s awesome! Thank you for introducing me to it 🙂

      Yeah it really is! Not the best in terms of lyrics but it’s one of those songs I just can help but like 😛

      • Ha yeah, the funny thing is that I hated Heart Attack the first time I heard it with the video. I was just like, really Demi, really? Some totally mainstream average single, I know you can do so much more than that! But after the second time I heard it I was in love. Very strange how that happens. 😛

      • I know what you mean, I was like that with the lyrics at first, I just thought they were all a bit random and didn’t really flow, but after a few listens I could kinda forgive that, now I love it 🙂 grower I think x

  2. Pingback: Summer Playlist 2015 | Sophie Brown.

Leave a Reply

