The A-Z of Me (Tag)

So Becky, over at beckysblogs.wordpress.com, tagged me to do this a little while ago and I thought it looked pretty cool. I also thought it would be a good way for people to get to know some little things about me outside of the whole music journalism thing – because I am a person too. ūüôā

So let’s get into it.

A – Author. As well as my blog and online magazine, I’ve¬†been writing songs and poetry since I was 15, and alongside my first year of uni I wrote and edited my first novel. This summer I plan to write the sequel and I’ve been searching for a literary agent in a bid to get published ūüôā¬† And,¬†anxiety.¬†May not be something that is obvious considering how I’ll march up to band members at gigs and speak to them etc, but I do¬†go through phases of bad anxiety, usually when I’m stressed.

B – Bonkers. Around the right people I can be really silly and downright odd, but so can said people so that makes it okay!

C – Country music, I’m obsessed! over the last few months I’ve really¬†fallen in love with it. Wish I could get away with the accent.

D – Dogs. I’ve always had pet dogs (among other pets.) Now I’ve gotten so used to having them that it’s weird not having one at uni, I feel alot¬†safer and less lonely with my dog around. Last year my dog Rosie that I’d grown up with passed away, so now there’s just our other dog Spike, and he’s such a giant mushball, whenever I’ve been away for a while he’s so affectionate¬†and always puts a smile on my face when I see him!

Picture0030

E – England.¬†London. UK.¬†Where I was born and where I’ve always lived.

F – Flying. I’ve always said if I could be any animal I’d be a bird, free to fly and go wherever I wanted.

G – Graduate. As of June 25th I’m officially a BA (Hons) music journalism graduate, wooooooohooooooo!
I can also be quite guarded, I don’t open up easily unless I’m comfortable with the person – which I don’t think is a bad thing! You don’t want the world knowing everything about you do you?

H РHome. Living on my own for the past three years at uni I really do appreciate all the little home comforts when I come back for a while.

I – Ianthe. I really like this name and I think it sounds really pretty.

J – Jumpy. Ridiculously, it’s not even funny.

K – Kind. I’m the type of person¬†who always wants to be there for¬†the people I’m close to, or people I¬†care about when¬†they need it. I’d rather my friend told me how they felt and I did my best to help them,¬†than they¬†feel like they have to deal with it alone.

L – Love.¬†I’m a pretty affectionate person if I care about someone, and at 22 I’d be a liar if I said I’d never been hurt in regards to love, but ultimately¬†I think everyone wants that fairytale ending;¬†to find the right person (whether they care to admit it or not.)

M – Mum. I don’t know what I’d do without her. and music, clearly it’s a huge part of me and my life.

N – Nutella. My house is obsessed! it’s great for those girly chats, when you need comforting or for when you’re just sitting in front of the TV watching a film together. One of the best things to do is to soften it up a bit in the microwave, then dip ginger biscuits in it *yummmmmm!

O – Open. Despite the fact that on the letter ‘G’ I said I was guarded, if you know me well I’m pretty much an open book. Someone asked me to tell them a secret the other day and I’ll be honest, I was really hard pressed to find one. Yes there are things I keep close to my chest if you don’t know me (as is pretty normal) but if you know me and I’m comfortable with you I’ll pretty much tell you anything you want to know.

P – Punctual. I really dislike being late, I’m usually always the first one to turn up when I’m meeting someone (apart from a few people who I know have a habit of being late.) I’d rather be ten mins early and go get a coffee or chill out, rather than be 10 mins late running in frazzled.

Q – Quiet. I can be quite quiet in certain situations, usually if something’s bothering me, like if I’m uncomfortable or upset. My friends always notice when there’s something wrong because usually I’m quite a chatty person. and I’m very quick witted.

R – Ridiculously sarcastic. Seriously, if you can’t deal with sarcasm I don’t think we’d get along.

S – Sophie. That’s me.¬† My uni friends call me ‘Slothie’ as a result of our love of Sloths. They’re so adorably cute. I’m also an aspiring singer.

sloth

My birthday present

T – Tattoos. I currently have three, I don’t want loads and I like having them in places that I can cover if I need to, but I really like them. I like them on other people and¬†I like the stories that come with them; they’re a great¬† ice-breaker.¬†I also¬†love getting them done, I¬†didn’t really find any of mine painful, in truth I quite enjoyed it. It’s kind of an¬†empowering feeling, especially when people see them and say things like: ‘Ouch, did that hurt’ and I’m just like ‘meh’. I have the word ‘Hope’ and three birds on my wrist, and a treble clef on the inside of my index finger.

U – Unbridled passion. I’m a very passionate person, when I’m into something I get really¬†into it and passion about it, and I just want everyone to know about it and be able to see how great it is.

V – Vampires. The Lost Boys, Interview with the Vampire, The Vampire Diaries…I really enjoy vampire fiction and vampire films,¬†I even wrote my six thousand word dissertation on the representation of vampires in film. I just find it really interesting.

W – Welsh accents. Big fan ūüôā

X – Xylophone. Just reminds me of a joke from one of my favourite comedians, Michael McIntyre, (talking about the alphabet) “you will never meet a xylophone player in your life…here’s a xylophoneeeeeeee.”

Y – Just say yes. (See video below) This is exactly how my anxiety makes me feel sometimes, and how I’m trying to approach it now, being in a¬†better head space. I don’t want to let my anxiety take over my life. It’s weird to think someone feels the exact same way as you do for the same reason.

Z – zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. Nothing can describe the awesome feeling when you’ve not slept properly for a few days, and when you catch up on your sleep and wake up feeling amazing.

I’ll be honest, you think that’d be easy but when you sit down to do it, thinking of all the answers is quite difficult. I find it hard to talk about myself anyway, it’s weird, give me a thousand word feature to do and I’ll do it, but ask me to write a 100 word bio and I don’t know where to start,¬† I just go blank!

Thanks Becky for tagging me and in response to your “GET YOUR BUTTS ON WORDPRESS PEOPLE. I MISS YOUR AWESOME BLOG CONTENT!” comment…Sorryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy! ūüôā I’ve been so lax with blogging! I haven’t even had time to read a book¬†since Sept! *Gasp! haha. But now I’ve got more time on my hands¬†you should¬†be seeing some more, always nice to know that someone keeps tabs on my blog. ūüôā

Check out Becky’s blog over at: beckysblogs.wordpress.com. She’s a book blogger and does some awesome book reviews. Being the book worm that I am I really enjoy¬†reading her blog and comparing opinions on books we’ve both read, or finding new books to add to my wish list.

Thanks for reading and hope you enjoyed.

2 thoughts on “The A-Z of Me (Tag)

  1. NO BOOKS SINCE SEPTEMBERRRRRR!!!! AGHHHHHH. LOL. Nahh I’m joking, I get it, uni can get intense and verrry busy and you’re in the last year so it must be crazy!

    Really enjoyed reading all your answers and I found myself nodding along with a lot of them. I suffer with anxiety, and funny enough only came across this video and her panic attacks one a week ago and it made me feel so much better. My anxiety has been especially bad this year with starting uni, literally to the point where every day I was hanging on by a thread and I didn’t even want to leave my room. Eeesh. Although I don’t get panic attacks everything she says is spot on for general anxiety too. I am also a mega punctual person and it really bugs me when people are late! I’m big on being kind (which sometimes backfires) and being guarded, lol. ūüôā

    Congrats on writing a whole novel, wow! I’m so jealous, I expect to read it one day. ūüėČ And thanks for doing the questions!

  2. hahaha I know right?! I’ve missed it! Yeah it was pretty intense really, I’m still getting used to the fact that I’m finished…I feel like I should have stuff to do haha. Aw thank you, that’s really cool. Oh I’m sorry to hear that, it’s horrible! But yeah I watched those and it’s cool (in a way) to see that other people go through the same things. Oh I’ve been through something like that, it sucks! how’re you doing now though?! hope things are better for you ūüôā And yeah I know all too well how kindness can backfire at times, but I think it gets to the point when if somebody isn’t there for you and you’ve been there for them loads you think ‘why should I bother?’

    Thank you! ha it’s not that long in terms of pages, but it did take a while! I’m going to do all the final edits over the summer, it’ll give me time to really get into it again… and are you kindding?! I’ll be sending you an advance copy to review! haha ūüėõ
    No problem, thanks for tagging me! ūüôā

Leave a Reply

