Tracks I’m loving: Catch up

Ok so this post has been a long time coming, I just haven’t really found the time to do it, but here it is for you. Tracks I was/am loving (over the last few months.)

Kelly Clarkson – Catch my breath

I love this song. Kelly Clarkson’s voice is as great as ever; showcasing her blinding range, and the lyrics are uplifting, motivational and inspirational.
“No one can hold me back I ain’t got time for that…no one can get me down, it’s all so simple now.” Amazing.

Of Monsters and Men – Little Talks

This is a great song, it’s upbeat, catchy and its big fairground-esque sound always puts a smile on my face and makes me want to get up and dance.

Grace and The Nocturnals – Paris ooh lala

I really like the old-school hard rock feel to this song, it gives the song a great edge. The vocals suit the style really well, they’re loud and almost shouty but pull it off really well, keeping in tune and hitting the notes dead on. I particularly like the contrast between the rest of the song and the smooth ‘ooh la la’ part of the chorus, it turns sultry and sexy whilst still keeping that edge. I love it.

Bruno Mars – Locked out of Heaven

I like The Police-esque sound to this track, it has a very classic, old rock vibe. It’s different to Mars’s usual R’n’B feel; it has a bit more of a bad boy edge, but it doesn’t sound out of place. His vocals suit the song really well and are flawless as always. A great track.

Elissa Franceschi ft Josh Franceschi – Salt

I’ve recently rediscovered my love for this lady’s music, she is an amazingly talented emerging artist and I suggest everyone go and give her a listen if you like chilled out, powerful, meaningful and hopeful songs. I heard this song again recently when the video was released and I just automatically fell in love with it. It’s delicate and dreamy and the higher register of Elissa’s voice adds to that feeling, hitting each note perfectly. Brother, Josh Franceschi (You Me At Six) also features on the song, and if you’ve heard You Me At Six’s Always Attract, then you know how great their voices are together. They compliment each other brilliantly, and the two vocal tones emphasize the lyrics and just add another layer of beauty and strength to the song. AMAZING.

There will be another ‘Tracks…’ post coming soon with my more updated musical favourites and I’ve got some ideas for other posts I want to do to so look out for that. Thanks for reading 🙂

2 thoughts on “Tracks I’m loving: Catch up

Leave a Reply

