He’s a Wonder (The Cab Week)

So like I said in my ‘The Cab week’ intro, for a uni assignment last year we had to write a short piece on someone’s voice, and surprise, I did mine on Alexander DeLeon, so as it’s ‘The Cab Week’ and all, I thought I’d post it.

He’s a Wonder

I pressed play and was immediately captivated by what I heard.  The upbeat positive sound drew me in but the voice stopped me in my tracks, amazed. Smooth and effortless, but can turn raw and husky to ratchet up the power; Alex DeLeon of The Cab sounds flawless and almost hypnotic. You can feel the emotion and soulfulness behind the songs coming through in every note. This man means what he sings; he’s heartfelt, honest, and utterly mesmerizing.

Able to hit the Justin Timberlake-esque high notes live as well as on record, Alex is one of a dying breed: the artist that doesn’t hide behind auto-tune or gimmicks, but actually has talent; the ability to deliver a message in such a way that can move an audience to tears or make them keep dancing. From the catchy upbeat sounds of ‘Lala’ to the poignant beauty of ‘Vegas Skies’, it is quite clear that this man’s talent is something to be reckoned with.

…and if that doesn’t tempt you to check out their 2nd album Symphony Soldier – which is set for release in the UK on September 24th – What will? hahaha.

Leave a Reply

