Tracks I’m Loving

Train – Drive By

I really love Train, and this song is no exception. A bouncy opening riff and pat Monahan’s vocals – which are smooth and effortless, great as ever – making way for a catchy, explosive, pop-y, chorus that always has me bobbing along to it, or even dancing around, whenever I hear it. It has a very upbeat and sunsine-y feel to it. Perfect for blasting out on summer’s day, either at home or in the car, I will be, it never fails to make me smile.

Maroon 5 – Payphone

This latest offering from Maroon 5 ft Wiz Khalifa is brilliant. I love Adam Levine’s voice and every time I listen to Maroon 5 I’m struck by how great and distinctive his vocals are; sounding comfortable and strong in both low and high notes. This man can really sing. When I first saw that Wiz Khalifa featured on this track I was a little apprehensive, wondering how the two would fit together in one song, but it really does work and adds another great layer to the track giving it something different for Maroon 5. I also really love the lyrics and think that they have a ring of truth to them which adds to the appeal of the song for me because I can relate to it. The beat of the song is really great and upbeat, despite the not so upbeat story painted by the lyrics, and the chorus is another that has me wanting to dance around when I hear it. Another great summer song to blast.

Room 94 – You Got It Wrong

Ever since I did my first review/thoughts on these guys in the ‘New Bands’ section, I’ve not been able to stop listening to them. I love their stuff, and this song is just one of the ones that I’m really liking at the moment. It has a great opening na na nana na refrain, and a very pop/punk rock feel to it, it almost puts me in mind of You Me At Six’s old stuff. The na na na’s initially grab your attention and the explosive chorus demands it stays there – and does the job very well. Kieran Lemon’s vocal style is great, and the band is so tight and together and polished it’s not a surprise that this video has been featured on music channels Kerrang! and Scuzz. onwards and upwards for these guys I say.

 Marianas Trench- Haven’t Had Enough

When I first heard this it kind of reminded me of The Summer Set and The Cab put together. I really like the beat of the song and Josh Ramsey’s vocal style and honestly, it’s just really up my street. It’s fun, upbeat and I really love the lyrics to it. Win!

VersaEmerge – No Consequences

no-consequences (Check out the track on SoundCloud by clicking the link. < )

This is very different to the old ‘straight rock’ Versa stuff from ‘Fixed At Zero’. It brings in a lot more of an electronic and dancy vibe and is less with the typical rock sound, although it definitely has that rock, Versa vibe going on that you can recognise that it’s them. I’ve got to say I really like it, it’s different, there’s no doubt about it, but it’s a progression and artists change and grow and I wouldn’t say after hearing this track that is necessarily a bad change, I loved the old stuff from ‘Fixed At Zero’ but this new track isn’t bad by any means, it just shows a natural growth from the old sound to this new one. I’m really interested to see how this new sound translates on stage too, but by the sounds of it there is still room for some head banging and the chorus should get crowds bouncing along no problem. New Versa? I’m a fan.

Leave a Reply

