Book Club: Insurgent by Veronica Roth

I’ve been impatiently waiting for this book and as soon as I got it I couldn’t wait to start reading. The sequel to Divergent, Insurgent continues the story of sixteen year old girl Tris, who lives in a fractured society and chose to leave her old faction, and subsequently her family, to become one of the Dauntless; the tough, weapon carrying, seemingly fearless faction. In becoming Dauntless Tris becomes increasingly tough and strong, and when they discover all is not well with the factions, has to deal with more than anything she has ever known.

Insurgent picks up where Divergent left off, still reeling after the simulation attack on Abnegation, Tris, Tobias, Peter and Marcus are on the run. Hiding from the Erudite, and the recruited Dauntless traitors, they find themselves staying with what’s left of the Abnegation, then the Amity, before deciding to take back what’s theirs and go back to the Dauntless headquarters. The Erudite are trying to rid the factions of the Divergent; a major problem for both Tris and Tobias, among others we’ve come to know and love as readers. It’s a war, and Tris and Tobias are determined to fight to the end, even when it seems that their instincts take them in different directions.

I bloody loved this book as well as this series, it took me a little under a week to finish; at points I had to force myself to stop reading to, ya’know, sleep. But like its prequel, Insurgent is right in the centre of the action and never takes its foot off the accelerator. It’s another high speed ride of guns, chases and plot twists to keep you turning the page. I found myself not wanting to put the book down and just keep reading, the action is so fast paced and there is always another discovery to keep you on your toes, I didn’t lose interest for one second. When you find out what the purpose of the society separation is, and what Tris does to try to stop being unnecessarily slaughtered, it seems as though all is lost, but in true Dauntless style Tris and Tobias fight through it, albeit sometimes separately.

The ending of the book leaves you right in the aftermath of a pretty big revelation; why the Divergent are being hunted. It left me totally wanting more and I cannot wait to read the next and last book in the series. I’d really really recommend this series, and I’m so psyched to hear that the trilogy is being made into a movie. (http://thedivergenttrilogy.com/movie)

4 thoughts on “Book Club: Insurgent by Veronica Roth

  1. Wow, sounds great! How long have you got to wait for the next book? Speaking of which this reminds me, I should be buying the next Kissed by an Angel book…

  2. It is! Such a great series! umm it’s scheduled for release in ‘Fall 2013’ as far as I know…but there’s an E-book from the main guys perspective floating around so I’ll have to nab that on my kindle 🙂 oooooh!!!! I haven’t got round to reading the last one yet! I’ve read the first two and really loved them though! Can’t wait to hear your opinion on it 🙂

    • Ohhh you poor thing, that’s a very long time to wait!! Ohh well, I’m sure Detergent will be worth it. 😛 You’ll just have to find lots of other great books to kill the time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

