My favourite tracks of the last few months.

(Less recent – Most recent.)

Maroon 5 – Moves like Jagger

I love Maroon 5 and have done since their 2002 debut album ‘Songs About Jane’. When I first heard this song I thought it was a little different to the stuff I’ve heard previously and at first I thought the collaboration with Christina was an unlikely one as I wouldn’t have put the two together previously,
but it’s super catchy, super feel good and danceable and Adam’s vocals are as great as ever. It made me re-realise how talented a vocalist he is. A well crafted piece of pop music that will have you dancing and singing along in no time and will always put a smile on your face.

Gym Class Heroes – Stereo Hearts

Another track that Adam Levine graces. The two vocal styles (Adam’s and travie mcCoy’s) fit together so well in the song so you get that balance of singing and rap. It has a great upbeat vibe that makes me think It’d be a great summer song to roll down your windows and blast out.

LMFAO – Sexy and I know it

A completely feel good, doesn’t-take-its-self- too-seriously, danceable track. Love it.

Kelly Clarkson – Mr.Know-it-all

Kelly Clarkson is back! This song definitely re-awakened my love for this lady’s music. Her vocals are still as strong ever and really showcase the emotion of the track. Absolutely brilliant.

Dave Barnes – God Gave Me You.

Beautiful. Just…beautiful.

Tim Hughes – When The Tears Fall

Now, this isn’t usually the type of music I would listen to; I was introduced to it by a friend and I actually really like it. It’s very Christianity oriented but in my opinion you could apply the lyrics to whatever you believe in; whatever gives you hope. Beyond that, the music and the way that Hughes sings fit together amazingly well and the conviction and emotion that Hughes sings with is undoubtably real. It’s a song that may just also be a helping hand.  

Bruno Mars – When It Rains

I really like Bruno Mars and this track from Twilight’s Breaking Dawn part 1 is no exception. Beautiful lyrics and Mars’s emotion enthused vocals are as smooth and flawless as usual. I also really like his track ‘Marry You’ which is a little more fun and upbeat and shows that Bruno Mars isn’t just all about the ballads. Always puts a smile on my face.

The Cab – Falling Up

What can I say?…This song was leaked from the band’s newest album Symphony Soldier and was cut from the final recording of the album. It’s an amazing song with such inspiring lyrics and a concept that does make you think, ‘Who says when you fall, you have to fall down?’. Singer’s voice is amazing and heartfelt as always and the music matches the tone of the song perfectly. A song that always manages to give me a little bit of hope and make me smile. 

Black Veil Brides – Fallen Angels

A well crafted rock song that needs to be played loud to fully appreciate it. Andy’s vocals are very husky and almost seductive, it’s near impossible not to get caught up in the ‘We scream, we shout’ refrain. I could imagine this song being epic in a live environment, as well as a massive crowd pleaser, with the crowd collectively screaming along to the gang vocal-y bits, punching the air with their fists.

Jana Kramer – Whiskey

So I’ll be honest, I discovered this song watching the most recent series of One Tree Hill and I really liked it. Country singer Jana Kramer has a great voice and shows it well in this song; taking a softer approach on the verses and bringing up the power and emotion in the chorus’ with the drums coming in. After only being signed in February last year Kramer is definitely one to watch.

Ed Sheeran – Lego House

I really like what I’ve heard of Sheeran, there is no denying he has talent and this is a really pretty song.

Austin Nivarel – Capable Love

I became aware of this guy’s music after he followed me on twitter, and his music is right up my street.
At just 19 Nivarel is really talented; he can sing and play guitar really well and his songs are very deep, full of emotion and easy to relate to.
I’d fully recommend checking out his stuff on http://www.purevolume.com/new/austinnivarel for the non acoustic version of this song as well as others like the catchy ‘Everywhere I Go’ and ‘Stuck Around’ – that will have you bobbing your head along, if not dancing – and mellower tracks like ‘January’ and ‘Pretend’ as well as a load of others. I’m definitely a fan. 

Christina Perri – A Thousand Years

Great vocals, poignant and relatable lyrics, and music that really fits that melancholic vibe of the song. I really like Perri’s voice and loved her last single ‘Jar Of Hearts’. There is no denying this woman is hugely talented.

Rachel Tucker – Defying Gravity

I said quite a bit about this in my ‘Defy Gravity’ blog, but I have been listening to Rachel Tucker’s renditions of the songs from Wicked quite a bit recently, particularly this song and ‘The Wizard and I’.
The reason being that I love the music in the show, from the accompanying music to the moving, passionate, heartfelt lyrics, but I also think that Rachel Tucker is exceptionally talented and I think her vocal ability is absolutely astounding. I’d really love them to record a soundtrack with the west end cast with Rachel’s vocals. Amazing, absolutely amazing.

M83 – Midnight City

A great party song with a chorus that’s great to blast on a night out.

6 thoughts on “My favourite tracks of the last few months.

  1. I’m loving Jana Kramer’s Whiskey as well, she has a really nice sweetness (is that a word? Haha) to her voice. I love a bit of country twang in music, and I’m anxiously awaiting some more songs from her. Any idea when she might release some more?
    🙂

  2. haha yeah it’s a word 🙂 I totally agree with you there! She has about 3 or 4 songs on Itunes and there are loads of videos on youtube if you’re looking for new songs. But tbh I just follow her Facebook page and Twitter and get updates from there 🙂 hope that helps!

    • Cool, I’ve followed you 🙂 Great to see someone else is actually using their Twitter page for tweeting haha! Most of the blogs I come across just use it to link their blog posts only. I’m @fuzzyslippers22 🙂

Leave a Reply

