Tracks I’m loving.

Right so I decided to do these shorter versions of the ‘playlist series’ for songs I can’t get enough of and have constantly (not literally but ya’know) on repeat. So, You know the drill…

The Fray – Never Say Never.

Haunting Piano, Great vocals and range there-of, Amazing lyrics…what else do you need?

Lights – February Air (Acoustic)

Ok, so what to say about Lights? She’s not very mainstream (or not that I’m aware of) and I must admit, I don’t like her normal electronic style; her vocals either sound too high or too low and she sounds as though she’s put through auto tune.
However, her acoustic sessions on YouTube prove that she really doesn’t need the frills and gimmicks and she sounds so much better with her natural vocals. I think this song proves that point, she shows good range and the inclusion of high notes in the chorus add to its beauty, and lyrically I think it’s flawless. Very catchy song that showcases Lights’ genuine singing talent.

Take a look? :

http://www.youtube.com/user/lights?blend=1&ob=4#p/u/38/sVHODgr-Y0A

Bruno Mars – Grenade

Ok so, for one, Bruno Mars’ voice is perfect! It’s so smooth and flawless, it’s like it glides, you never hear his voice wavering or cracking when he tries to hit high notes and it seems so effortless, but at the same time with a lot of passion (particularly in the chorus’) which makes it very easy to listen to.
Lyrically I’d say the chorus is more prominent than the rest of the song, but in most cases the chorus is the ‘hook’ IE. the most catchy part of the song. I’ll admit, they’re not the best lyrics I’ve ever heard, but they work. (and Mars’ voice alone can make up for the shortfalls!)

The subject matter of the song once again centres around his feelings for a partner and it’s one of those songs that a girl would hear and think ‘ I want Bruno Mars to sing that to me! ‘ …or at least I would! haha.
So good song with absolutely flawless vocals! Love it! 

Pink – Fucking Perfect

Pink’s songs never cease to amaze me! They’re always very beautiful with a huge element of honesty and truth to them; like she’s not afraid to say how she feels and open up about issues in her songs. I’ve loved all her previous work, including the ‘I’m Not Dead’ album, which seemed to show more of the emotional and personal side to things. Her songs had done before – for example, ‘Don’t let me get me’ and ‘Just like a pill’ – but this album seemed more centred around personal issues, for example, ‘Conversations with my 13-year-old self ‘and ‘Dear Mr. President’.
This song seems to continue into that thread, and the video in particular shows the dark side of being made to feel “Less than perfect” which is a huge issue in society with people feeling the pressure to fit in, and Pink seems like she’s always been a bit of a mis-fit, which is the great thing about her as she’s her own person and isn’t afraid to be herself.

I think that is a great message to promote and this is a very touching song about self acceptance and it’s sung with such emotion that it is another song that shall be one of Pink’s best.

Miley Cyrus – Who Owns My Heart?

I’m just on a bit of a Miley Cyrus kick right now! I’ve always liked the ‘Miley’ side of things as opposed to the ‘Hannah’ side of things, so songs like ‘See You Again’, ‘Seven Things’ and more recently ‘fly on the wall’, ‘Can’t be Tamed’ and ‘WhenBruno  I look at you’.
I think it’s good that she is trying to break out of the Disney thing and be seen as Miley, even though it has taken a while. 

Yes, her style is changing and she has been getting criticism for it, but she’s growing as an artist and as a person getting older and growing up so she does have a right to change, and a lot of the things you see, like the clothes she wears or how she dances, isn’t much different to how the majority of girls today do things anyway.
I love the song and think she sings it well and personally, I think she looks absolutely stunning in the video!

x  

Leave a Reply

